To honor an individual, not necessarily a lawyer, who has contributed to New York State in a manner that reflects Dean Burns’ commitment to the struggle for justice and the qualities that made him an outstanding advocate for civil rights and the empowerment of the powerless. 

Contact: Mark Wilson

2016 Nomination Form

Deadline: November 20, 2015

Date Presented: Thursday, January 28, 2016

Award: Crystal plaque with inscription

Congratulations to the 2015 Haywood Burns Memorial Award Winner Glenn D. Magpantay

For over sixteen years, Glenn D. Magpantay has defended and prompted the voting rights of Asian Americans at the Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund. As AALDEF’s Democracy Program Director, he has pressed for inclusive access to the vote through bilingual ballots and greater political representation and recognition of one of the nation’s fastest growing minority groups.  

Glenn D. Magpantay was honored at the 2015 Haywood Burns Memorial Award Reception that was held during NYSBA's Annual Meeting.  

Previous Award Recipients

2015 Glenn D. Magpantay
2014 Robert Gangi
2013 Howard Glickstein, Esq.
2012 Bryan D. Hetherington, Esq.
2011 Cesar A. Perales, Esq.
2010 Mary Crisalli Sansone
2009 Dr. Parveen Chopra
2008 Donna Lieberman
2007 John F. Boston
2006 Hon. Cornelius Blackshear
2005 Laurie M. Lambrix, Esq.
2004 Leroy Wilson, Jr., Esq.
2003 Juan A. Figueroa
2002 Hon. Ellen M. Yacknin
2001 Rockwell J. Chin, Esq.
2000 Hon. Pam Badoria Jackman Brown, Esq.
1999 Prof. Randolph M. Scott-McLaughlin