David M. Schraver of Rochester (Nixon Peabody) was today named president-elect designee of the 77,000-member New York State Bar Association.

The House of Delegates, the State Bar's governing body, elected Schraver during the 135th Annual Meeting in Manhattan. He will begin a one-year term as president-elect on June 1, 2012 and a one-year term as president on June 1, 2013.

Current President-elect Seymour W. James, Jr. of Brooklyn (Legal Aid Society), will assume the presidency on June 1, 2012, succeeding Vincent E. Doyle III of Buffalo (Connors & Vilardo).

Secretary David P. Miranda of Albany (Heslin Rothenberg Farley and Mesiti) and Treasurer Claire P. Gutekunst of Manhattan (Proskauer) were re-elected for another one-year term.

The newly-elected officers are:

David M. Schraver, President-elect Designee: A partner in Nixon Peabody's Rochester office, Schraver concentrates his practice in complex civil and commercial litigation, with a special emphasis on Indian law and gaming, energy and utilities litigation, contract litigation, and fiduciary and professional liability. Before joining the firm, he served in the U.S. Navy Judge Advocate General's Corps.

Active in the State Bar since 1971, Schraver was a member of the Executive Committee from 2003 to 2010. He has served on the House of Delegates for 15 years and has chaired the Finance Committee since 2007. He is a member of the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section, Committee on Standards of Attorney Conduct, Special Committee on Strategic Planning and Special Committee on Veterans. He previously chaired the New York State Conference of Bar Leaders Executive Council.

A resident of Brighton, Schraver is a past president of the Monroe County Bar Association. He received that association's Adolph J. Rodenbeck Award. He was president of the Metropolitan Bar Caucus of the National Conference of Bar Presidents.

Schraver is a cum laude graduate of Harvard University. He earned his law degree magna cum laude from the University of Michigan Law School. He is a native of Albany.

David P. Miranda, Secretary: Re-elected for a third term, Miranda is a partner at Heslin Rothenberg Farley and Mesiti in Albany. He is a trial attorney whose intellectual property law practice includes trademark, copyright, trade secret, false advertising, patent infringement, and Internet-related issues.

Within the State Bar, Miranda has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2006. He chairs the Committee on Resolutions and co-chairs the Special Committee on Strategic Planning. He was chair of the Young Lawyers Section in 2002 to 2003 and the section's delegate to the American Bar Association from 1998 to 2000. He also chaired the Electronic Communications Committee from 2000 to 2006. He is currently a member of the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section, Committee on Annual Award, Committee on Continuing Legal Education and Membership Committee. He is a past member of the Task Force on E-Filing and the Special Committee on Cyberspace Law.

A resident of Voorheesville, Miranda is a past president of the Albany County Bar Association. He has served on the Independent Judicial Election Qualification Commission for the Third Judicial District of the State of New York.

Miranda is a graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo and Albany Law School.

Claire P. Gutekunst, Treasurer: Re-elected for a second term, Gutekunst is a partner at Proskauer. She represents corporate, law firm and individual clients in resolving complex commercial disputes.

Gutekunst previously chaired the Membership Committee, the Committee on Women in the Law, and the Strategic Planning Advisory Committee. She recently co-chaired the Special Committee on Rules for Consideration of Reports. She is a member of the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section's Executive Committee and the Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.

A Manhattan resident who grew up in the Glens Falls area, Gutekunst received her undergraduate and master's degrees from Brown University and her law degree from the Yale Law School.

The 77,000-member New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. It was founded in 1876.


Contact: Lise Bang-Jensen
Director of Media Services & Public Affairs