Pamela Jones Harbour has been recognized with the Kay Crawford Murray Award, given by the Committee on Women in the Law of the New York State Bar Association.

Harbour, the first African-American female commissioner of the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC), received wide recognition for furthering the FTC's work in several areas of antitrust law, including intellectual property, privacy and pharmaceuticals.  Former staff members cite her as role model who improved diversity and professional development within the commission. 

"In the spirit of Kay Crawford Murray, Pamela Jones Harbour is a true trailblazer who is dedicated to helping other attorneys succeed. She raises the bar for all attorneys and community leaders," said Anna S. Park of Manhattan (Zeichner Ellman & Krause), co-chair of the Committee on Women in the Law. "It is fitting that we recognize her accomplishments."

"Pamela Jones Harbour has taught so many diverse attorneys and female attorneys what they can accomplish through hard work and perseverance. She is a role model and a class act," said Sharon M. Porcellio of Rochester (Ward Greenberg Heller & Reidy), co-chair of the Committee on Women in the Law. "We are delighted to present this award to her."

Harbour was sworn in as one of the five members of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) in August 2003, following her unanimous Senate confirmation. She served as commissioner until April 2010. She is currently a partner of Fulbright & Jaworski.

She chaired the State Bar's Antitrust Section from 2003 to 2004 and received its Distinguished Service Award in 2005.  She also was a member of the ABA's Commission on Women in the Profession.

Prior to her FTC appointment, Harbour was a partner at Kaye Scholer and chair of its diversity committee. She previously was state deputy attorney general and chief of the Public Advocacy Division.

Harbour is a graduate of Indiana University School of Music and Indiana University School of Law.

The award recognizes an attorney who enhances diversity in the profession and advances the professional development of female attorneys. It is named for Kay Crawford Murray, past chair of the Committee on Women in the Law. Harbour received her award on January 24th during the Committee on Women in the Law luncheon during the State Bar Association in New York City

The 77,000-member New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. It was founded in 1876.


Contact: Brandon Vogel
Media Writer