Catalina Ford, a first-year student at Fordham University School of Law, is the 2013 recipient of the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section Minority Fellowship, The New York Bar Foundation has announced.

As the recipient of the $6,000 fellowship, Ford will work this summer in the chambers of New York State Supreme Court Commercial Division Justice Jeffrey Oing.

"We are thrilled to present this prestigious fellowship to Catalina Ford. She has excelled in her first year of law school," said Bar Foundation President Cristine Cioffi (Cioffi•Slezak•Wildgrube). "We expect that this fellowship will help her achieve her goal of becoming a commercial litigator."

A graduate of Agnes Scott College, Ford expects to graduate from law school in May 2015. She is a member of the Latin American Law Students Association and the recipient of the Patricia M. Hynes Scholarship for Women. She also is a hotline volunteer with and a volunteer research assistant at the Moving Minds Forward Foundation.

"We received several commendable applications for the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section Minority Law Student Summer Fellowship. We are delighted to present the 2013 fellowship to Ms. Ford, a remarkable and bright young woman." said Tracee E. Davis (Zeichner Ellman & Krause), chair of the Commercial and Federal Litigation Section.  "Our goal is to increase the representation of lawyers and students from a diverse range of backgrounds in commercial litigation and to provide fellows with an opportunity to gain practical experience by clerking in the Commercial Division.  We are pleased to join with The New York Bar Foundation to offer this opportunity." 

"I am extremely honored to be chosen as this year's Commercial and Federal Litigation Section Fellow. I look forward to working with Justice Oing and hope to take full advantage of the opportunities this summer presents," said Catalina Ford.

To learn more about The New York Bar Foundation and how to support its charitable programs, go to, phone 518/487-5650 or email


Contact: Deborah Auspelmyer

Foundation Administrator