January 29, 2009


New Yorkattorney is the founding director of suicide prevention non-profit organization

NEW YORK -The New York State Bar Association's Young Lawyers Section will present its Outstanding Young Lawyer Award to Andrew P. Sparkler of New York(American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) tonight at the 9th floor, Marquis C/Upper Terrace Promenade of the Marriott Marquis. The award is presented annually to a young lawyer who has rendered outstanding service to both the community and the legal profession and has a distinguished record of commitment to the finest traditions of the Bar through public service and professional activities.

After losing a close friend to suicide in 2005, Sparkler founded the David Dawes Nee II Foundation in 2006, where he is currently President of the Board of Directors. The foundation is dedicated to eliminating the stigma associated with depression and suicide by promoting and encouraging diagnosis and treatment of depression among adolescents and young adults. The foundation is currently developing the Law School Initiative that seeks to address the epidemic of depression in law students in New York.

"Of the many exceptional nominees we received this year, Andrew Sparkler proved to be an exemplary candidate for this prestigious award. He is an inspiring role model for young lawyers in his commitment to the law and his community," said Young Lawyers Section Chair Sherry Levin Wallach of Mt. Kisco(Wallach & Rendo LLP). "More than 40 percent of third-year law students and 24 percent of lawyers in New Yorksuffer with depression and I commend Andrew for raising awareness about the severity of this issue as he continues what is sure to be a distinguished career."

A graduate of Brown Universityand Fordham University School of Law, he is currently the Legal Corporate Associate Director of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He began his career as an Employment and Employee Benefits Associate at Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP before switching to entertainment law at Beldock Levine & Hoffman LLP. Sparkler served as editor-in-chief of the Fordham Intellectual Property, Media & Entertainment Law Journal.

Previous winners include David A. Kochman of New York (Reed Smith), Laurie A. Giordano of Rochester (Leclair Korona Giordano Cole LLP), Michael C. Rakower of New York (Law Office of Michael C. Rakower), Elissa D. Hecker of Irvington (Law Office of Elissa D. Hecker), and Immediate Past Association President Kathryn Grant Madigan of Binghamton(Levene Gouldin & Thompson LLP).

The 76,000-member New York State Bar Association is the official statewide organization of lawyers in New Yorkand the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. Founded in 1876, State Bar programs and activities have continuously served the public and improved the justice system for more than 130 years.