January 28, 2009


New York University Law Professor is recognized for lifetime contributions to published scholarship in ethics

NEW YORK--The New York State Bar Association today announced that Professor Stephen Gillers of New York University School of Law has been awarded the 2009 Sanford D. Levy Memorial Award, sponsored by the Committee on Professional Ethics, for outstanding lifetime contributions to published scholarship in the field of legal ethics. Professor Gillers will be honored at the State Bar's Annual Meeting today.

"Professor Gillers has one of the most creative minds in the field of legal ethics," said Committee on Professional Ethics Chair Roy Simon, and a co-author with Professor Gillers for the past 20 years. "He combines intellectual leadership with a keen sense of the challenges of day-to-day law practice. He has devoted his academic career to writing about the regulation of lawyers and richly deserves the Levy Award."

The Levy Award was established in 1981 by a bequest of a former chair of the Committee on Professional Ethics. The committee presents it annually to an individual or institution that, in the opinion of the committee, has contributed most to understanding and advancement in the field of professional ethics by publication of an article or commentary in a law review or journal published in New York State.

Professor Gillers has been professor of law at the New York University School of Law since 1978, where he earned his law degree in 1968. He currently holds the Emily Kempin chair and previously served as vice dean from 1999 to 2004. His research and writing primarily focuses on the regulation of the legal profession.

A widely-published author in popular news outlets, law reviews, and law magazines, Gillers is the author of Regulation of Lawyers: Problems of Law and Ethics, a law school casebook now in its seventh edition. He is past chair of the American Bar Association's Policy Implementation Committee of the ABA's Center for Professional Responsibility.

Previous recipients of the Levy Award include Prof. Thomas D. Morgan (George Washington School of Law), Roger C. Cramton of Ithaca (Cornell University Law School), the New York Professional Responsibility Report, Lawrence J. Fox of Philadelphia (Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP), Jonathan J. Lerner of New York (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP), Russell C. Pearce of New York (Fordham University School of Law), Fordham Law Review, and HofstraLaw School Journal of the Institute of Legal Ethics.

The 76,000-member New York State Bar Association is the official statewide organization of lawyers in New Yorkand the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. Founded in 1876, State Bar programs and activities have continuously served the public and improved the justice system for more than 130 years.