June 7, 2010


ALBANY-The New York State Bar Association today announced 13 new section chairs, who took office on June 1. The 25 sections of the State Bar publish material dealing with their fields of expertise, much of which is not available through commercial publishers. Sections also sponsor conferences, seminars and institutes, monitor legislation and conduct studies. Each of the sections contributes to policy-making, both in subject areas and Association-wide.

The new section chairs are:

Jonathan D. Lupkin of New York (Flemming Zulack Williamson Zauderer LLP), chair of the 2274-member Commercial and Federal Litigation Section. A graduate of Columbia College and Columbia Law School, Lupkin is a partner at Flemming Zulack Williamson Zauderer LLP. He has extensive experience litigating a variety of complex business disputes, including disputes involving attorney malpractice and other professional liability, commercial banking, real estate, partnership break-ups, securities and financial derivatives.

Edna Sussman of Scarsdale (SussmanADR LLC), chair of the 745-member Dispute Resolution Section. A graduate of Barnard College and Columbia Law School, Sussman is a full time arbitrator and mediator, the principal of SussmanADR LLC, and the Distinguished ADR Practitioner in Residence at Fordham University School of Law.

Sharon Kovacs Gruer of Great Neck (Sharon Kovacs Gruer, PC), chair of the 2730-member Elder Law Section. A graduate of Hebrew University in Jerusalem and Yeshiva University's Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Gruer concentrates her practice in the areas of estate planning, elder law, special needs trusts, guardianships, tax law and asset protection.

Barry R. Kogut of Syracuse (Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC), chair of the 1158-member Environmental Law Section. A graduate of Syracuse University and University of Virginia Law School, Kogut is a partner at Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC, concentrating his practice in environmental law, including federal and state regulatory compliance and enforcement matters.

Bruce J. Wagner of Albany (McNamee, Lochner, Titus & Williams, P.C.), chair of the 2597-member Family Law Section. A graduate of Cornell University and Albany Law School, Wagner is a partner of McNamee, Lochner, Titus & Williams, P.C, and chairs the firm's Matrimonial and Family Law Department. He practices exclusively in the field of matrimonial and family law, and represents clients in the negotiation and litigation of pre-nuptial agreements, separation and divorce.

Caryn M. Silverman of New York (Sedgwick Detert Moran & Arnold LLP), chair of the 258-member Food, Drug & Cosmetic Law Section. A graduate of Cornell University and Yeshiva University's Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Silverman is an experienced trial and litigation attorney who concentrates her practice on complex civil litigation. She has particular expertise in products liability, with an emphasis on drug and medical device litigation.

Leonard E. Sienko, Jr. of Hancock (The Sienko Law Office), chair of the 2053-member General Practice Section. A graduate of Boston College and Boston College Law School, Sienko is a sole practitioner, concentrating his practice in personal injury, auto accidents, real estate, trusts and estates, and business transactions.

Ari J. Markenson of White Plains (Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP), chair of the 1182-member Health Law Section. A graduate of Syracuse University and Brooklyn Law School, Markenson is of counsel to Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP's National Healthcare Practice Group. He provides counsel to various health care industry clients, including providers and payers on a wide range of matters with a concentration and specific expertise in the representation of post-acute care providers.

Paul Matthew Fakler of New York (Arent Fox LLP), chair of the 1958-member Intellectual Property Section. A graduate of the University of Florida and Georgetown Law Center, Fakler is a partner at Arent Fox LLP, concentrating his practice in intellectual property litigation and counseling, primarily in the fields of copyright, trademark, entertainment and computer/Internet law.

Hon. Leland G. DeGrasse of New York (Appellate Division, First Department), chair of the 313-member Judicial Section. A graduate of St. John's University and Howard University School of Law, DeGrasse is an associate justice of the Appellate Division, First Department. He was elected a justice of the New York State Supreme Court, First Judicial District in 1988 and re-elected in 2002.

Mairead E. Connor of Syracuse (Law Offices of Mairead E. Connor, PLLC), chair of the 2333-member Labor and Employment Section. A graduate of Syracuse University and Syracuse University College of Law, Connor's practice is dedicated to the representation of labor unions and employees in all aspects of labor and employment and discrimination matters.

Anne Reynolds Copps of Albany (Law Office of Anne Reynolds Copps), chair of the 4527-member Real Property Section. A graduate of the University at Albany and Albany Law School, Copps is a sole practitioner concentrating her practice on adoptions, real property, business formation, and estate planning.

Philip G. Fortino of Sherburne (NY Central Mutual Fire Insurance Co.), chair of the 2764-member Young Lawyers Section. A graduate of the State University of New York at Brockport and Western New England College School of Law, Fortino is a staff attorney with the NY Central Mutual Fire Insurance Co., handling automobile property damage and no-fault defense as well as subrogation matters.

Founded in 1876, the 77,000-member New York State Bar Association is the official statewide organization of lawyers in New York and the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. The State Bar's programs and activities have continuously served the public and improved the justice system for more than 130 years.