ALBANY - The New York State Bar Association Criminal Justice Section presented its Awards for Outstanding Achievement to five individuals for their contributions in the criminal justice field.

Award categories and recipients are:

Outstanding Contribution to Legislation: Attorney General Eric Schneiderman and John P. Amodeo of Albany (Office of the Attorney General). Attorney General Schneiderman and Amodeo were honored for their successful efforts to reform the Rockefeller Drug Laws. As a state senator, Schneiderman was the chief sponsor of the reform legislation. Amodeo previously served as chief counsel to the New York State Sentencing Reform Commission.

Outstanding Contribution for Public Information: Brendan Lyons of Halfmoon, senior writer for the Albany Times Union. During his 23 years of reporting, Lyons' work has sparked FBI probes, state legislative hearings, grand jury investigations and government shakeups. Notable articles included his coverage of former Senate Majority Leader Joseph Bruno's trial.

David S. Michaels Memorial Award for Courageous Efforts in Promoting Integrity of the Criminal Justice System: Vincent Briccetti, U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of New York. While awaiting Senate confirmation of his judgeship, Briccetti put aside political pressure to represent unpopular and troublesome clients. Briccetti was sworn in as U.S. district court judge on April 21, 2011.

Outstanding Appellate Practitioner: Susan Salomon of the Center for Appellate Litigation in New York City. Salomon is being honored for her decades of work as an appellate litigator, notably on death penalty cases. She is currently a senior litigation specialist at the Center for Appellate Litigation.

Criminal Justice Section Awards Committee Chair Norman P. Effman of Buffalo (executive director, Attica Legal Aid) presented the 2011 awards on May 14th during the section's spring meeting in Saratoga Springs, NY.

The 77,000-member New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. It was founded in 1876.


Contact: Brandon Vogel
Media Writer