July 1, 2013: New York State Bar Association Announces New Committee Chairs

State Bar Association President David M. Schraver of Rochester (Nixon Peabody) has appointed nine attorneys as chairs and co-chairs of committees within the Association.

The standing and special committees of the State Bar sponsor conferences and seminars, monitor legislation and conduct research studies. Each committee contributes to policy-making, both in subject areas and Association-wide.

The new committee chairs are:

Scott M. Karson of Melville, Audit Committee. A graduate of the State University of New York at Stony Brook and Syracuse University College of Law, Karson is a partner at Lamb & Barnosky. He concentrates his practice on trial and appellate litigation, as well as municipal, civil rights, commercial, real property, personal injury and criminal litigation.

Eileen Buholtz of Rochester, Bylaws Committee. A graduate of the Eastman School of Music and Syracuse University College of Law, Buholtz is a member of Connors & Corcoran. She concentrates her practice in commercial and insurance defense litigation, as well as estate planning and administration.

Dennis R. McCoy of Buffalo, Committee on Association Insurance Programs. A graduate of the University of Notre Dame and SUNY Buffalo Law School, McCoy is a senior litigation partner at Hiscock & Barclay. He concentrates his practice in professional liability, torts and products liability defense, commercial litigation, and insurance coverage and regulation.

Rosevelie Marquez Morales of Manhattan, Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (co-chair). A graduate of Barnard College and Fordham University School of Law, Morales is a member of Harris Beach. She concentrates her practice in mass tort litigation, products liability defense, health care litigation and medical malpractice defense, premises liability and general liability defense.

John R. McCarron, Jr. of Carmel, Committee on Law Practice Management (co-chair). A graduate of Western Connecticut State University and Pace University School of Law, McCarron is a partner at Montes & McCarron. He concentrates his practice in matrimonial/divorce, family law, DWI defense, business law, technology law and real estate.

Sherry Levin Wallach of Mount Kisco, Committee on Membership. A graduate of George Washington University and the School of Law at Hofstra University, Wallach is a principal and partner at Wallach and Rendo. She concentrates her practice in criminal defense in state and federal courts throughout New York, Bronx, Westchester, Putnam and Rockland counties.

Hon. Michelle Weston of Brooklyn, Committee on Procedures for Judicial Discipline. A graduate of St. John’s University and Rutgers University School of Law, Weston is an associate justice of the Appellate Term for the Second, Eleventh, and Thirteenth Judicial Districts. In addition to hearing appeals at the Appellate Term, Justice Weston presides over medical malpractice trials in state Supreme Court. 

Ellen G. Makofsky of Garden City, Committee on Women in the Law (co-chair). A graduate of Boston University and Brooklyn Law School, Makofsky is a founding partner of Raskin & Makofsky. She concentrates her practice in elder law and trusts and estates.

Hon. Bernard J. Malone, Jr. of Albany, Special Committee on Youth Courts (co-chair). A graduate of Niagara University and Albany Law School, Malone is senior counsel to Whiteman Osterman & Hanna. He was a member of the Appellate Division of New York State Supreme Court, serving on the First Department in Manhattan and the Third Department in Albany.  He had been an elected trial level Supreme Court justice since 1998. 

Their terms began on June 1.

The 76,000-member New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. It was founded in 1876.


Contact: Brandon Vogel
Media Writer