Health Law Section Committees

Click the committee name to view the committee roster.

To join one or more of the Committees below, you may email the Chair, Co-Chair or staff Liaison.

Continuing Legal Education (CLE)

Committee Chair
Robert P. Borsody
rborsody@phillipsnizer.com

Committee roster


E-Health and Information Systems

Committee Co-Chairs
Charles C. Dunham, IV, Esq.
(518) 487-0223
cdunham@bsk.com

Daniel Meier
(914) 682-6819
dmeier@beneschlaw.com

Committee Roster

----------------------------------------

Ethical Issues in the Provision of Health Care 

Committee Co-Chairs
Lawrence R. Faulkner, Esq.
(914) 495.4508
lfaulkner@westchesterarc.org

Alice H. Herb, Esq.
(212) 243-6662
aherb217@gmail.com

Committee Roster
----------------------------------------

Health Care Providers and Networks

Committee Co-Chairs
Reginald Bullock, Jr., Esq.
rbullock@bhmcny.org

David A. Manko, Esq.
(516) 357-3005
mailto:david.manko@rivkin.com

Committee Roster

-------------------------------------------------

Health Professionals

Committee Roster
-----------------------------------------

Legislative Issues

Committee Chair
James W. Lytle, Esq.
jlytle@manatt.com

Committee Roster

-----------------------------------------

Managed Care and Insurance

Committee Co-Chairs
Harold N. Iselin, Esq.
(518) 689-1400
iselinh@gtlaw.com

Ross P. Lanzafame, Esq.
(585) 231-1203
rlanzafame@hselaw.com

Committee Roster

------------------------------------------

Medical Research and Biotechnology

Committee Mission Statement and Goals

  • Internal: To keep members up-to-date on cutting-edge developments in the law relevant to medical research and the use of nanobiotech and biotechnology in clinical practice; 
  • External: to partake in activities that meaningfully contribute to the development of sound laws, policies and regulations governing biomedical research and clinical practice; and 
  • Networking: to provide members with an opportunity to network with colleagues on the committee and with relevant external organizations and individuals.


Committee Co-Chairs
Alex C. Brownstein, Esq.
(646) 228-2972
alexbrownstein@bioscicom.net

Samuel J. Servello, Esq.
(212) 554-7872
sservello@mosessinger.com

Committee Roster

----------------------------------------

Membership Committee

The Committee is responsible for Section recruitment and member support.  The Committee also organizes membership appreciation activities. Includes subcommittee devoted to the Section’s participation in the Bar Association’s Diversity Initiatives.  This subcommittee is responsible for implementation of our summer internship program and our efforts to reach out to minority bar associations. Participation is especially useful for young attorneys who are trying to break into the Health Law field, as its activities provide rich networking opportunities.

Committee Co-Chairs
Karen L.I. Gallinari, Esq.
kgallinari@bronxleb.org


Hon. James F. Horan, ALJ
(518) 402-0748
jfh01@health.state.ny.us

Committee Roster

----------------------------------------

Mental Hygiene and Developmental Disabilities

We envision the committee as a forum in which those who are involved in serving MH and MR/DD providers or who have interests in those issues will be able to exchange information, concerns and views. We expect that new developments, such as the introduction of managed care, the admin cap/exec comp regs, and the expected Justice Center will be the focus of discussion, and will lead to further activities.

Committee Co-Chairs
Hermes Fernandez, Esq.
(518) 533-3000
hfernandez@bsk.com

Carolyn Reinach Wolf, Esq.
(516) 592-5857
cwolf@abramslaw.com

Committee Roster

----------------------------------------

Public Health Law Committee

The committee focuses on legal issues in the realm of public health, or the health of communities or populations. It serves as a forum to discuss current public health issues and undertake various types of projects to educate our members as well as other attorneys and the general public on legal issues in public health. Past activities have included:

  • A written analysis comparing current New York laws with model laws related to public health emergencies; 
  • A policy paper on legal issues, barriers, and solutions regarding health care costs; 
  • Participation in planning a full-day continuing legal education seminar on accountable care organizations; the opportunity to comment on proposed New York State bills on public health issues; and 
  • Speakers on conference calls about various public health topics our committee chooses. The speaker series in 2012 has centered around how the public health sector’s long experience in gathering and interpreting data can assist in healthcare reform and its data-driven paradigms.

The committee holds regular conference calls on the second Wednesday of each month for about 1 hour and an in-person meeting at the NYSBA annual meeting in January. 

Committee Co-Chair
Julia C. Goings-Perrot, Esq.
(845) 565-1100
jgoings-perrot@cmmrlegal.com

Committee Roster

---------------------------------------

Publications and Web Page

Committee Chair
Robert N. Swidler, Esq.
(518) 525-6099
Robert.swidler@sphp.com

Committee Roster

----------------------------------

Reimbursement, Enforcement and Compliance

Committee Co-Chairs
Robert A. Hussar, Esq.
(518) 431-6730
rhussar@manatt.com

Melissa M. Zambri, Esq.
(518) 429-4229
mzambri@hblaw.com

Committee Roster


Young Lawyers


Committee Co-Chairs:
Nicole Ozminkowski
nozminkowski@harrisbeach.com

Dennis Williams
dwilliams@kbrlaw.com

Comments to the NYS Medicaid Inspector General re MED-39-09-00007-P and MED 39-09-00008-P (November 2009)
Comments to the NYS Medicaid Inspector General re OMIG Audit of Ancillary Services.... (November 2008)