Committee on Cannabis Law

Mission Statement
The Committee on Cannabis Law is charged with serving as the New York State Bar Association’s focal point for the evolving legal status of Cannabis1 at both the state and federal level. Cannabis law is perhaps one of the fastest growing yet complex areas of the law that poses a broad spectrum of challenges. This Committee seeks to help NYSBA lawyers give their clients better advice through sharing educational resources, and otherwise helping New York set the highest possible legal and business (including advice to medical professionals) standards for legalized Cannabis products.

Upcoming CLE Programs

Annual Meeting 
Hot Topics in Cannabis Law 2019: What Lawyers Need to Know
Tuesday, January 15, 2018 | 1:00 p.m. - 4:40 p.m.
Hilton Midtown | NYC

CLE Program Archives

Practical Implications of Decriminalized Marijuana for the Legal Practitioner 
7.0 MCLE Credits

Cannabis Law in New York State and the U.S. 2018

3.0 MCLE Credits

Legislative Developments in Medical Marijuana in New York 2018
3.0 MCLE Credits

Patient, Provider and Registered Organizations Perspective on Medical Marijuana and Adult Use in New York
4.0 MCLE Credits

Committee Co-Chairs
Aleece E. Burgio, Esq., McGuire Development Company, Buffalo
Brian J. Malkin, Esq., Arent Fox, Washington D.C.

Staff Liaison Jessica Patterson

The Friends of the Committee on Cannabis Law is an online community that promotes open communication among the committee members and those interested in the area of Cannabis Law. If you would like to join the Friends of the Committee on Cannabis Law please contact Jessica Patterson.

To help expand the reach of the Committee on Cannabis Law to the entire NYSBA membership, some of our committee members have volunteered to be NYSBA Section Liaisons for the committee.  Please feel free to contact your Section’s liaison from the list below to learn how you can get involved in the committee and its activities.

Business Law Section - Glenn J. Witecki, Esq
Corporate Counsel Section - Lee Williams, Esq.
Criminal Justice Section - John Joseph Montes, Esq.
Elder Law and Special Needs Section - Jeffrey A. Asher, Esq. 
Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Section - Diane Krausz, Esq.
Environmental and Energy Law Section - Telisport W. Putsavage, Esq. 
Executive Committee - Jonathan B. Behrins, Esq.
Food, Drug & Cosmetic Law Section - Brian J. Malkin, Esq. and Thomas J. Schultz, Esq.
General Practice Section - Elisa Strassler Rosenthal, Esq.
Health Law Section - Sandra Jensen, Esq., Noah B. Potter, Esq. and Jay B. Silverman, Esq.
Intellectual Property Law Section - Robert Laurence Greenberg, Esq. 
International Law Section - Jose Alberto Campos, Esq. 
Labor and Employment Law Section - Alyson Matthews, Esq., Geoffrey A. Mort, Esq. and Samuel Sverdlov, Esq. 
Real Property Law Section - Aleece E. Burgio, Esq. 
Tax Section - Jason Klimek, Esq.
Trusts and Estates Law Section - Regina Kiperman, Esq. 
Young Lawyers Section - Michael James Sullivan, Esq.