Upcoming CLE Programs

Bringing you the best and most relevant continuing education to help you be a better lawyer. Last year over 2,000 lawyers and judges volunteered for a NYSBA CLE. For decades, CLE volunteers have been developing and presenting seminars, preparing rich collections of written materials and raising the bar for legal practice in New York.

View Programs by Topic, Section and Area of Practice.

Did You Miss a Program? View Recently Added Online On Demand Programs


JANUARY

Preparing and Filing a Probate Petition in the Surrogates Court
Wednesday, January 22 | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. | Webinar

143rd NYSBA Annual Meeting and Exposition
Monday, January 27 - Friday, January 31 | NYC


February

Becoming An Ally: Four Trailblazing Jurists Discuss Diversity and Inclusion
Wednesday, February 5 | 5:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. | NYC

Estate Litigation: 1404 Examination and Contested Accountings
Wednesday, February 5 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

New York Practice 101 | New York Civil Practice Law and Rules
Attend this meeting in person and receive the 2020 New York Civil
Practice Law and Rules (Redbook), a $155 value!

Friday, February 7 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC & Webcast
Friday, February 7 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Live Video Conference | Albany 

The SECURE Act - Impacts on Retirement Planning
Friday, February 7 | 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. | Webinar

Matrimonial Law Basics
Tuesday, February 11 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Buffalo

From Lawyer to Leader: Hiring Your First Paralegal 
Thursday, February 13 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Webinar

Bridging the Gap
Thursday, February 20 - Friday, February 21 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC

Working at a Branch Office
Wednesday, February 26 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

What You Need to Know as a Guardian Ad Litem
Friday, February 28 | 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | NYC
Thursday, March 5 | 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Long Island
Friday, March 6 | 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Albany

Risk Management for Lawyers
Friday, February 28 | 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC
Friday, March 6 | 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Rochester
Thursday, March 12 
| 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Syracuse
Friday, March 13 
| 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Buffalo


March

Securities Arbitration 2020: Deep Dive
Friday, March 6 | 9:00 a.m. – 4:45 p.m. | NYC & Webcast

Recently Adopted Rules and Technology at the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department
Monday, March 9 | 3:00 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. | Webinar

An Ethical Exploration of the Three R's: Attorney Ratings, Rankings and Reviews
Tuesday, March 10 | 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. | Webinar

A Guide to Diversity & Inclusion in the 21st Century Workplace
Thursday, March 12 | 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. | Long Island 
Friday, March 13 | 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. | NYC
Friday, March 20 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

Special Education Law Update
Wednesday, March 11 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Syracuse
Thursday, March 12 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany

16th Annual International Estate Planning Institute

Thursday, March 12 | 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. | NYC
Friday, March 13 | 8:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. | NYC 

Applying for Malpractice Insurance
Friday, March 13 | 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | Long Island

Completing Your Cyber Application 2020
Friday, March 13 | 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. | Long Island

Bridging the Gap
Monday, March 16 – Tuesday, March 17 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany 

How Attorneys and Judges are Addressing New Technologies - Part II 
Tuesday, March 18 | 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | NYC

Recognizing the Risks of Facial Recognition Technology: A Look at the Potential for Bias and Other Ethical Issues
Tuesday, March 18 | 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. | NYC

At the Intersection of Highly Automated and Autonomous Vehicles, and the Fourth and Fifth Amendments
Thursday, March 19 | 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. | Webinar  

Discovery, Use, and Admissibility of “Black Box” Data
Thursday, March 19 | 10:00 a.m. – 10:50 a.m. | Webinar

Employing” AI: Explainable AI, Algorithmic Bias, and the Workplace
Thursday March 19 | 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | Webinar

CPLR Update 2020
Friday, March 20 | 1:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. | NYC & Webcast 

    Purchase and Sale of a Business 2020
    Friday, March 20 | 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC

    Introductory Lessons on Ethics & Civility 2020
    Friday, March 20 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | NYC & Webcast
    Friday, April 3 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | Albany
    Friday, April 17 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | Long Island
    Friday, April 24 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | Syracuse
    Friday, May 15 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. | Buffalo

    Bridging the Gap
    Thursday, March 26 – Friday, March 27 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC

    Business Arbitration and Mediation 2020
    Monday, March 30 | 9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. | NYC


    April

    Bridging the Gap
    Thursday, April 2 – Friday, April 3 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC

    Artificial Intelligence and the Law
    Tuesday, April 7 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Webinar

    Bridging the Gap
    Thursday, April 16 – Friday, April 17 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | London

    Fundamentals of Construction Contracts and Surety Bonds
    Friday, April 17 | 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. | NYC
    Tuesday, April 21 | 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. | Rochester

    The Lawyer as Employer
    Tuesday, April 21 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Webinar

    Taking the Lead 2020: Winning Strategies and Techniques for Commercial Cases 
    Wednesday, April 22 | 5:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. | NYC

    Family Court Trial Institute 2020: Orders of Protection
    Wednesday, April 22 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC
    Thursday, April 23 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Westchester
    Friday, April 24 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

    10 Tips to Help Grow Your Practice
    Wednesday, April 29 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Webinar 

    Trust & Estates Law Section - Spring Meeting 2020 (Registration coming soon)
    Thursday, April 30 - Sunday, May 3  | Austin, TX


    May

    Starting a Solo Practice in New York
    Friday, May 1 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC & Webcast

    Fundamentals of Construction Contracts and Surety Bonds
    Tuesday, May 5
     | 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. | Long Island
    Friday, May 12 | 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

    Family Court Trial Institute 2020: Orders of Protection
    Friday, May 8 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Long Island
    Friday, May 8 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Rochester

    Public Utility Law 
    Thursday, May 14 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast

    DWI on Trial - The Big Apple XX
    Friday, May 15 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC & Webcast


    June

    A Guide to Diversity & Inclusion in the 21st Century Workplace
    Wednesday, June 3 | 4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. | Miami, FL

    Divorce Anniversaries: 40 Years of Equitable Distribution
    Wednesday, June 3 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Albany & Webcast
    Thursday, June 4 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Westchester
    Friday, June 5 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Long Island
    Friday, June 5 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | Rochester
    Friday, June 12 | 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. | NYC

    Accounting for Lawyers
    Friday, June 19 | 12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. | NYC 
    Friday, June 26 | 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. | Albany or Webcast

    Family Law Section - Summer Meeting 2020 (Registration coming soon)
    Thursday, July 9 – Sunday, July 12 | Boston, MA 


    Save the Date!
    Biometrics, Facial Recognition and Autonomous Vehicles: A Survey of Data Privacy Laws for Emerging Technologies
    September, Wednesday 23 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. | Webinar  


    If you are looking to sponsor a program please contact:
    Holly Klarman 
    Email: [email protected]
    Phone:  (410) 584-1960