The Committee On Women in the Law's Annual Meeting Program, CanCelled in January Due to winter weather conditions, Has Been Rescheduled for Tuesday, May 5.   

There are a limited Number of Spaces Available for this 6-credit Annual Meeting Program.   To register, please call (800) 582-2452.

Eleventh Annual Edith I. Spivack Symposium
Women Rising:  Advancement, Mentoring, and Negotiating Your Way to the Top

Tuesday, May 5, 2015
New York Hilton Midtown
1335 Avenue of the Americas, New York City
Concourse A | 9:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
Networking Reception | Sponsored by Labaton Sucharow LLP 
Concourse G | 4:15 – 5:30 p.m.

Committee Chairs:
Ellen G. Makofsky, Esq., Garden City
Ferve E. Ozturk, Esq., New York City

Program Chairs:
Terri A. Mazur, Esq., New York City
Carol C. Villegas, Esq., New York City

Women have the will to lead and the drive to succeed, yet remain underrepresented in positions of leadership and power across the legal spectrum. What’s standing in the way? The Committee on Women in the Law is pleased to offer a program that will change the way you look at your path to the top, and provide you with practical skills to get to the next level of your practice.

Keynote Address: Breaking Barriers: Rising to Leadership & Success 
Speaker: The Honorable Judith S. Kaye, Esq., Of Counsel, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP; Retired Chief Judge, New York Court of Appeals

Register by calling SBSC at (800) 582-2452. 

About the Committee on Women in the Law

MISSION: Established in 1986, the Committee on Women in the Law is charged with the responsibility of identifying, studying and making recommendations to address gender bias and law-related issues affecting women. The Committee proposes legislation; the adoption and implementation of policy by the Executive Committee and House of Delegates of the New York State Bar Association; and other actions to ensure the fair treatment of women under law and the full participation of women in the administration of justice and as equal members of the legal community. The Committee is a standing committee of the Association as designated by the House of Delegates in 1989.

The Committee has presented educational forums on gender concerns; sexual harassment in the profession; balancing professional and family responsibilities; career development beyond partnerships; women in politics; seeking service on the bench; and breast cancer. Additionally, the Committee presents forums for women law students on career issues and opportunities.

To provide recognition for exemplary achievement by a male or female member of the Association in addressing the concerns of women, an Association award was established in honor of the Committee's first Chair, Ruth G. Schapiro. The annual award was proposed and is administered by the Committee. The first recipient of this award in 1992 was The Honorable Judith S. Kaye. For more information about the Ruth G. Schapiro Memorial Award, click here.

To honor women in the profession who recognize the value of diversity in the legal profession and have dedicated their time to advancing the professional development of women attorneys, the Committee has established the Kay Crawford Murray Award. Future recipients will posses the following characteristics: A distinguished legal career or a rising star in the profession; An active member of bar associations for the purpose of advancing the professional and personal development of women attorneys; An active mentor to women attorneys. For more information about the Kay Crawford Murray Award, click here.

Please contact Robyn Ryan, Committee on Women in the Law, NYSBA, One Elk Street, Albany, NY 12207; 518-463-3200.