Ruth G. Schapiro Memorial Award

To honor a male or female member of the Association who has made a noteworthy contribution to the concerns of women through pro bono services, writing, service to bar associations or community organizations or other such endeavors.

Contact: Tiffany Bardwell

Click here for nomination form

Deadline: October 19, 2018 by 2:00 p.m.

Date Presented: Friday, January 18, 2019, January House of Delegates Meeting 

Award Criteria: Person must be a member of the NYSBA and must have made a noteworthy contribution to the concerns of women through activities stated above. 

Prize Awarded: Crystal vase with inscription

Past Recipients

2017 Bernice K. Leber
2016 Chief Judge Janet D. Fiore
Dean Patricia Salkin
2014 Hon. Joan S. Kohout
2013 Kathleen Donelli
Kathryn Grant Madigan
2011 Kim K. Azzarelli 
2010 Susan B. Lindenauer, Esq. 
2009 Hon. Evelyn Frazee 
2008 Karen DeCrow, Esq. 
2007 Hon. Jacqueline W. Silbermann 
2006 Rhonda Copelon, Professor 
2006 Edith I. Spivack, Esq. 
2005 Catherine Jean Douglass, Esq. 
2004 Denise E. O'Donnell, Esq. 
2003 Eileen R. Kaufman, Esq. 
2002 M. Catherine Richardson, Esq. 
2001 Hon. Lawrence H. Cooke 
2001 Hon. Kristin Booth Glen 
2000 Joan L. Ellenbogen, Esq. 
1999 Hon. Rachel Kretser 
1998 Anne F. Mead, Esq. 
1997 Hon. Betty Weinberg Ellerin 
1996 Hon. M. Dolores Denman 
1995 Hon. Sondra Miller 
1994 Maryann Saccomando Freedman, Esq. 
1993 Fern Schair, Esq. 
1992 Hon. Judith S. Kaye