March 23, 2010


Prestigious Honor Recognizes Substantial Contributions Lawyers Make to Community at Large

ALBANY - The New York State Bar Association is seeking nominees for its 2010 Root/Stimson Award, which is presented annually to a lawyer who has demonstrated a significant, positive impact in the community, state or nation, unrelated to the practice of law.

To be considered for the award, nominees must be a member of the Bar and should personify the spirit of community altruism. They should demonstrate selfless dedication in donating their time and skills to activities that enhance the community and the public's opinion of the legal profession. The 2010 Root/Stimson Award winner will be announced at the State Bar's June meeting of the House of Delegates in Cooperstown.

"Many of us became lawyers because of our desire to help people, but there are a select few who take our proud tradition of service and extend it to their communities with strong leadership and a tireless dedication to improving the lives of others," said Committee on Annual Award Chair John P. Bracken of Islandia (Bracken & Margolin, LLP). "It is our great privilege to honor those making real differences within their communities."

"Whether it is extraordinary leadership in non-profits, an unwavering commitment to helping disadvantaged children during the holidays, or exemplary fundraising to help vulnerable citizens, past recipients of the Root/Stimson Award have been outstanding community leaders and role models within the legal profession," said Paul Michael Hassett of Buffalo (Brown & Kelly, LLP), chair of the Subcommittee on the Root/Stimson Award. "We look forward to recognizing another esteemed recipient of this prestigious award."

The Root/Stimson Award, created in 1974, was named for distinguished lawyers Elihu Root and Henry Stimson to honor their commitment to public service. Root served in Theodore Roosevelt's administration as Secretary of State and was a 1912 Nobel Peace Prize laureate; Stimson served in Franklin D. Roosevelt's administration as Secretary of War during World War II.

Past award recipients include: Thomas S. Richards of Rochester (Mayor's Office, City of Rochester); Charles C. Russo of Hauppauge (Russo, Karl, Widmaier & Cordano, PLLC ); Stephen J. Dannhauser of New York City (Weil, Gotshal & Manges); and Arnold Gardner of Buffalo.

Nomination forms and application instructions are available for download at Completed forms, which must be postmarked by Friday, April 23, should be mailed to Susan Fitzpatrick, Department of Media Services & Public Affairs, New York State Bar Association, One Elk Street, Albany, NY 12207 or emailed to [email protected].

Founded in 1876, the 77,000 member New York State Bar Association is the official statewide organization of lawyers in New York and the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. The State Bar's programs and activities have continuously served the public and improved the justice system for more than 130 years.