

## NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION

One Elk Street, Albany, New York 12207 PH 518.463.3200 www.nysba.org

## **TAX SECTION**

2018-2019 Executive Committee

KAREN GILBREATH SOWELL

Ernst & Young LLP 1101 New York Ave, N.W. Washington, DC 20005 202/327-8747

DEBORAH L. PAUL First Vice-Chair 212/403-1300

ANDREW H. BRAITERMAN Second Vice-Chair 212/837-6315

GORDON E. WARNKE Secretary 212/997-0500

COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Bankruptcy and Operating Losses

Stuart J. Goldring
David W. Mayo

Compliance, Practice & Procedure
Elliot Pisem

Bryan C. Skarlatos
Consolidated Returns
William Alexander
Richard Nugent
Corporations

Corporations
Michael T. Mollerus
Linda Z. Swartz
Cross Border Capital M

Cross-Border Capital Markets David M. Schizer Andrew R. Walker

Cross-Border M&A
Yaron Z. Reich
Ansgar A. Simon
Employee Benefits
Robert C. Fleder
Andrea K. Wahlquist
Estates and Trusts

Andrea K. Wahlquist Estates and Trusts Alan S. Halperin Joseph Septimus Financial Instruments

Lucy W. Farr Jeffrey Maddrey "Inbound" U.S. Activities of Foreign

Taxpayers
Peter J. Connors
Peter F. G. Schuur

Individuals Megan L. Brackney Steven A. Dean Investment Funds

John C. Hart Amanda H. Nussbaum **Multistate Taxation** 

Arthur R. Rosen Jack Trachtenberg New York City Taxes Sherry S. Kraus Irwin M. Slomka

Irwin M. Slomka
New York State Taxes
Paul R. Comeau

Joshua E. Gewolb "Outbound" Foreign Activities of U.S. Taxpayers

U.S. Taxpayers Andrew P. Solomon Philip R. Wagman Partnerships Phillip J. Gall

Eric B. Sloan

Pass-Through Entities

James R. Brown

Edward E. Gonzalez

Edward E. Gonzale Real Property Robert Cassanos Marcy Geller Reorganizations

Neil J. Barr Peter A. Furci Securitizations and Structured

Finance
Daniel M. Dunn
John T. Lutz
Spin Offs

Lawrence M. Garrett Joshua M. Holmes Tax Exempt Entities Stuart Rosow

Richard R. Upton
Treaties and Intergovernmental

Agreements Lee E. Allison David R. Hardv

## MEMBERS-AT-LARGE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Daniel Z. Altman
William A. Curran
Tijana J. Dvornic
Pamela L. Endreny
Jason R. Factor
William I.

Kathleen L. Ferrell Elizabeth T. Kessenides Shane J. Kiggen Stuart E. Leblang William I. McRae Kara L. Mungovan Joel Scharfstein Stephen E. Shay Michael B. Shulman Eric Solomon Jonathan R. Talansky Dana L. Trier Eric Wang Sara B. Zablotney

> Report No. 1401 October 5, 2018

The Honorable David J. Kautter Assistant Secretary (Tax Policy) Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220

The Honorable William M. Paul Principal Deputy Chief Counsel and Deputy Chief Counsel (Technical) Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20224 The Honorable Charles P. Rettig Commissioner Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20224

Re: Report No. 1401 on Proposed Section 965 Regulations

Dear Messrs. Kautter, Rettig, and Paul:

I am pleased to submit Report No. 1401, commenting on proposed regulations under sections 962, 965 and 986 (the "Proposed Regulations"). This Report also addresses guidance provided by the Internal Revenue Service relating to refund claims of taxpayers that elect under section 965(h) to pay their tax liability resulting from the application of section 965 in installments.

In a prior report submitted on February 6, 2018, we made recommendations for guidance under section 965, and addressed certain issues arising under the rules set forth in Notice 2018-07 and Notice 2018-13 (the "Prior Report"). In this Report, we make a number of new recommendations regarding issues raised by the Proposed Regulations, and we also restate certain of our recommendations from the Prior Report

## FORMER CHAIRS OF SECTION:

Peter L. Faber Alfred D. Youngwood Gordon D. Henderson David Sachs J. Roger Mentz Willard B. Taylor Richard J. Hiegel Herbert L. Camp William L. Burke Arthur A. Feder James M. Peaslee Peter C. Canellos Michael L. Schler Carolyn Joy Lee Richard L. Reinhold Steven C. Todrys Harold R. Handler Robert H. Scarborough Robert A. Jacobs Samuel J. Dimon Andrew N. Berg Lewis R. Steinberg David P. Hariton Kimberly S. Blanchard Patrick C. Gallagher David S. Miller Erika W. Nijenhuis Peter H. Blessing Jodi J. Schwartz Andrew W. Needham Diana L. Wollman David H. Schnabel David R. Sicular Stephen B. Land Michael S. Farber that were not adopted by the Department of Treasury and the Internal Revenue Service in the Proposed Regulations.

We commend Treasury and the Service for making substantial progress in providing extensive guidance under section 965 in a short timeframe. We appreciate your consideration of our recommendations. If you have any questions or comments regarding this Report, please feel free to contact us and we will be glad to assist in any way.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen G. Sowell

Karen G. Sowell

Chair

Enclosure

Cc:

Lafayette "Chip" G. Harter III Deputy Assistant Secretary (International Tax Affairs) Department of the Treasury

Douglas L. Poms International Tax Counsel Department of the Treasury

Brian Jenn Deputy International Tax Counsel Department of the Treasury

Marjorie A. Rollinson Associate Chief Counsel (International) Internal Revenue Service

Daniel M. McCall Deputy Associate Chief Counsel (International) Internal Revenue Service

Raymond J. Stahl Special Counsel, Office of Associate Chief Counsel (International) Internal Revenue Service

John J. Merrick Special Counsel, Office of Associate Chief Counsel (International) Internal Revenue Service