Trial Lawyers Trial Advocacy Competition


The 2015 New York Regional Round of the National Trial Competition that our Section sponsors was held January 31-February 1 in Syracuse. The event was held at the Onandaga County Courthouse (which if you have not been there is an incredibly beautiful “turn-of’the’century” courthouse with amazing courtrooms) and Syracuse Law was the host law school.  

This year we had 20 teams from 10 New York law schools:  Brooklyn Law, Buffalo Law, Cardozo, Cornell, Fordham, Hofstra, NYU, Pace, St. John’s and Syracuse Law. Each school brought two teams.

The eight teams that advanced to the semi-finals were:

Brooklyn A, Buffalo C, Cardozo E, Hofstra K, NYU M, St. John’s Q, Syracuse S and Syracuse T. 

Hofstra K, St. John’s Q, Syracuse S and Syracuse T advanced to the final round.  There were split decisions in virtually all these trials, it was very close.

In the final round, Hofstra beat Syracuse T and St John’s beat Syracuse S. 

Hofstra and St. John’s will represent New York in the Texas Nationals in March.  We know they will do us proud and we want to wish everyone the best of luck for a terrific tournament in Houston in March. Whichever New York team advances farthest in Texas will receive the Trial Lawyer’s Cup from our Section.

The individual awards that we presented are as follows:

Best Opening:  Andres Sanchez (Hofstra Team L); Helene Weiss (Hofstra Team K); (tie) Prescott Loveland (Fordham Team I).  

Best Closing:   Aaron Spurlock (Hofstra Team K); Joseph Fortunato (Pace Team O); Sean Carberry (Buffalo Team C).  

Best Direct Examination:  (tie) Amanda Russo (NYU Team N); Jennifer Camillo (Syracuse Team T); Amanda Cannavo (Buffalo Team C)

Best Cross-Examination:  Christopher Berloth (Buffalo Team D); Aaron Spurlock (Hofstra Team K); Helene Weiss (Hofstra Team K)

Best Overall Advocate for the Preliminary Rounds:  Sylvia Dai (Brooklyn Team B); Jared Hoffman (Cornell Team G); Rebecca Hausner (Cardozo Team F)

Anthony J. DiMarco Esq. Best Overall Advocate Award:  Steven Michelen (Brooklyn Team A); Helene Weiss (Hofstra Team K); Aaron Spurlock (Hofstra Team K); Rahul Hari (NYU Team M)

Traveling Cup Award

In August 2010, the Travis H. D. Lewin award was established for the winning Coach of the competition. See the Trial Lawyers Section resolution establishing the Coach’s award here. The winners of the Travis H.D. Lewin Coaching Award for 2015 were the Coaches of the Hofstra Law School team. 

The 2015 awards were presented at the NYSBA House of Delegates meeting on June 20, 2015 at the Otesaga Hotel. See here for the 2013 Awards Presentation including a description of the National Trial Competition Section 2 Awards by the former Section Chair, Thomas Valet.

For this year's individual award winners and previous award winners click here.

To get your law school involved, contact Tina Rothaupt at, 518.487.5669 

Photos of 2013 Winning Teams

First Place Team Hofstra

Second Place Team (Fordham)

Link to the National Trial Competition homepage

2013 National Trial Competition Award Region 2 Winners, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University Trial Advocacy Team:  Kaitlyn Flynn, Jana McNulty, George Michel IV, Jared Rosenblatt, Coach, Gerard McCloskey, Coach

2013 National Trial Competition Award Region  2nd Place Winners, Fordham University School of Law Trial Advocacy Team: Brittany Russell, Graham Amodeo;  Adam Shlahet, Coach, Jeff Briem